Club News

s5 logo

Junior B
Con Danagher
Pat McGrath
James Docherty
Brendan McCaughey

Jimmy Quilty
Brendan O'Brien
Eamon O'Sulliavn
Peter O'Sullivan
Aidan Fitzgerald

Thanks for the support and hope we will achieve good performances and many thanks to all those who
agreed to take up the club call and fill all the positions with all the teams.

January 16th

There was no winner of the weekly lotto held on Thursday 9th January.  the numbers drawn were 12 20 22 24.  The €40 lucky dip went to Tara McCarthy, Vale View, Promotor Brendan O’Brien.  The €20 lucky dips went to Dan O’Brien c/o Kellehers, Derry Hurley, Dublin c/o Ber O’Shaugnessy, Ita O’Brien, Mountain View, Promotor TG Ryan, Aisling O’Brien, Cush, Promotor Brendan O’Brien.  The lotto is in The Greenwood Inn on Thursday 16th for a jackpot of €9,950.

Congratulations to the Limerick Senior Hurlers and Footballers for the fabulous wins over Cork on Saturday 11th in the Coop Munster league and the McGrath Cup.  The National leagues start in two weeks time and best wishes to both Limerick teams.

January 9th

We have had a busy start to the new year. The annual long puck was held on New Year’s day with 23 teams competing for the fewest number of pucks from Muirins Cross to Ardpatrick. The winners with 31 shots were Paudie Leahy, Kevin Palmer, Gavin O’Loughlin and Richie Murphy, they very kindly gave the prize money of €100 back to the club as did 2nd placed Richie McCarthy with his county team mates from Doon who had 32 shots. Teams also attended from Pallasgreen, and Ballyhea as well as several ladies teams and juvenile teams.

Joy Walsh, Niamh, Grace and Sinead O’ Shaughnessy won the ladies competition with Joy also winning the longest first shot. Her Partner Brian Moloney won the mens first shot. And Emma Walsh and Ruairi O’Shaughnessy were awarded the shortest first puck.  The Juvenile winning team were Conor Gilligan, Jack Cronin and Dylan Power.  A great day was had and refreshments were in the Greenwood Inn until late in the day.

On Friday night the 3rd January the Victory Dinner dance was held in the Woodlands where a lively 170 patrons celebrated until early morning.  We were joined by County Chairman John Cregan and the Limerick Senior Captain Declan Hannon for the presentation of medals and awards. MC for the night was Seoirse Bulfin who entertained us all with his stories. The team were presented by their medals by Declan Hannon, the man of the match awards and player of the year awards were presented  by John Cregan who gave an uplifting speech as we all look forward to the year ahead.

Senior player of the year                                         Dave Moloney

Young player of the year                                         Marty Farrell

Most improved player                                             Simon Hennessy

Man of the Match v Mungret                                 Dylan Dawson

Man of the Match v Kildimo Pallaskenry               Paudie Leahy

Man of the Match V Kildimo Pallaskenry replay   Dave Moloney

Man of the Match V Fr O’Neill’s                             Ruairi O’Shaughnessy

There were awards also for outstanding contribution to the club for Lotto coordinator Breda Walsh, Breed Sheedy and Brendan O’Brien which were presented by Club Chairman Fintan Leahy.

Presentations were made to Richie McCarthy and Jimmy Quilty Jnr who won Munster medals with Limerick in 2019. And tributes were made to Richie McCarthy as he retires from Limerick Senior hurling but thankfully not from the club.

The dinner was fabulous as always in the Woodlands and we danced the night away to Footloose and Neil Hennessy.   Lovely hampers from Centra and Effin cheeses were raffled on the admission ticket.

Many thanks to everyone who supported the night and we thank the photographers Ita West and John Mortell for the lovely photos on the night. Thanks to the Woodlands for a lovely venue and dinner.


As we settle into 2020 the lotto returns on Thursday 9th January in Healy’s bar. There is an offer of lotto and membership for the year for the sum of €120. If you want to avail of this offer contact a member of the committee or contact the club phone on 087 7710091 or email the club This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.. Or contact secretary Carmel Murphy. Required are your 4 numbers and your phone number.

Congratulations to the Limerick Senior hurling and football teams who are both in the Coop superstores Munster League finals next Sunday 12th January. Best wishes to both teams.

Back in action soon will be our U21’s and we will have updates of the Master fixture list in the next few weeks.

January 2nd

There was no winner of the last lotto of 2019 held on Wednesday 18th December.  The numbers drawn were 6 24 28 30The €40 lucky dip went to Jessie Walsh, Forest View. Promotor John Walsh. 

The €20 lucky dips went to Joan and Sean O’Riordan, St Annes Tce, Promotor Centra. 

Kyron O Donnell, Vale View, Promotor Donie O’Sullivan. 

Josh, Mattie and Jamie, Ballyroe Promotor Donie O’Sullivan,

Ned Sheehy, Spittle Glenroe Promotor Centra

Our Christmas extra lucky dips €20 x 10 prizes

Ruairi O’Shaughnessy, Ballyroe Upper Promotor Brendan O’Brien

Shannon O’Doherty, Vale View, Promotor Mollys

Marie Burke, Glentara, Promotor Fintan Leahy

Linda Torpey, Kilfinane, Promotor Harrys

Tommy Murphy, Promotor Centra

Noreen Lawlor, Promotor Breda Walsh

Ben Murphy and Dave, Promotor Centra

Jane Salmon, Promotor Con Danaher

Margaret McCarthy, Park View House, Promotor Brendan O’Brien

The Watsons, Promotor Mollys

We now take a 2 week break and the next draw will be on Thursday January 9th in Healys Bar.

The lotto has financed the club over many many years and we would like to give a big word of thanks to all our lotto sellers, and venues for their help over the years.  However Breda Walsh the lotto coordinator and Breed Sheehy must get huge thanks for the commitment and work they put in every week to oversee and run the lotto. 

The long puck takes place on Wednesday 1st January at 12pm.

Many people have made the club a success over the last year and we celebrate with our dinner dance on Friday 3rd in the Woodlands.  We would love to see you all there to start the new year off in style.  Music is by Donie O’Sullivan and Footloose, and Neil Hennessy is the DJ afterwards.

Best wishes to Limerick Senior hurlers V Clare in the Munster league Semi final on Sunday 5th January in Six mile Bridge at 2pm

On behalf of Blackrock GAA may I wish you all a Happy and Healthy New Year.